Future Talk

2013 IC Results - September 2013

Friday, December 05, 2014

Following are the results of the Australian teams who competed at the 2013 International Conference in Indiana.  Their high achievements show the strength of our Australian team. Well done!

The 39th Future Problem Solving Program International Finals have just ended at Indiana State University, Bloomington, Indiana, and Australian students have once again shown the strength and educational value of the FPS Program in Australia with the depth and breadth of their achievements. Congratulations to the following students for their achievements, which took place in a competition that encompassed over 2500 student and adult participants and 13 countries, including the USA, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Malaysia, Turkey, Portugal and Jordan

Global Issues Problem Solving

Junior Division

Westbourne Grammar School, Victoria (7th - 10 placegetters, 58 teams)

Sam Doyle
Tammy Huynh
Brigette Marks
Christopher Silva

Middle Division

Knox Grammar School, NSW (7th - 10 placegetters, 68 teams)
Jerson Balaton
Alex Neave
Ben Abberton
Christian Holman


Marryatville, South Australia (1st Place - the honour of being the first-ever Adult GIPS champion in FPSPI history!)
Caitlin Morrison
Kai Strobel
John Grenfell

Robert Henzell

Senior Individual

Grace Franki, Kambala, NSW (5th)

Community Problem Solving

Junior Division

Firbank Grammar School Sandringham: Grand Champion

Project: SHARE

Jonno Colman
Emily Austin
Bella Fanning

Carien Boshoff

Middle Division

Mount St Benedict, NSW: 1st Place (Civics and Cultural Division)

Project: DARUG
Rebecca Albertini
Laura Baker

Monique Cockram
Rebecca Calabrese

Stephanie Frost
Rebecca Koelmeyer

Julia Ramos Emily-
Kate Pfeiffer

Loreto Normanhurst, NSW: 2nd Place (Civics and Cultural Division)

Project: Celebrating Cultural Diversity
Monica Martin
Rachel Tilley

Alexandra Barnard
Louise Greenwood

Isabella Stevenson

Senior Division

The Illawarra Grammar School: 1st Place (Health and Human Concerns Division) - Project: Kids Count
Piper Stewart
Sarah Long

Presentation of Action Plan

Junior Division

Westbourne Grammar School, Victoria 3rd
Sam Doyle
Tammy Huynh

Brigette Marks
Christopher Silva

Middle Division

Knox Grammar School 1st
Jerson Balaton,
Alex Neave,

Ben Abberton,
Christian Holman

Knox Grammar School 2nd
Johnson Man
Lachlan Mitchell

Michael Liu
Vincent Chen

Congratulations to all these students and the others in the 100+ strong Australian contingent at IC, all of whom represented themselves with distinction and immersed themselves in the IC experience.

< Go Back